PDP Governors Head National Convention Committees | WakaWaka Reporters

PDP Governors Head National Convention Committees

Governors of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) will head the committees for the party’s May 21 national convention scheduled for Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

According to a statement by PDP’s National Publicity Secretary, Olisa Metuh, the committee will be inaugurated on Tuesday.

The release of the names put to rest the suspicions of PDP’s Board of Trustees and PDP Rescue group, who had raised concern over the delay in setting up the committees and hinted at plans by the national chairman of the party, Sen. Ali Modu Sheriff, to stay beyond May 21.

Sheriff, while dismissing such insinuations, maintained that he would not stay beyond his tenure as the party’s national chairman.

However, PDP in its statement yesterday said, “In line with the decision of the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the National Chairman, Sen. (Dr.) Ali Modu-Sheriff, has constituted the four special committees in preparation for the PDP National Convention and the overall rebuilding and repositioning of the party.”

The Committees, which are to be inaugurated tomorrow, are the National Convention Committee, Reconciliation Committee, Zoning Committee and the Finance Committee.

The National Convention Committee has Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, as Chairman; Taraba State Governor, Dairus Ishiaku, as Deputy Chairman and the Governor of Ebonyi State, Dave Umahi, as Secretary.

The Reconciliation Committee has Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson, as Chairman, and Senator Ibrahim Mantu as Deputy Chairman, while the Finance Committee has Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo, as Chairman, and Senator Godswill Akpabio as Deputy Chairman.

The Zoning Committee has Akwa-Ibom State Governor, Emmanuel Udom, as Chairman, and Barr. Kelechi Igwe as Secretary.

The committees will be inaugurated tomorrow at the national secretariat of the party by 2pm.