Ortom Sacks All 23 LG Caretaker Committees | WakaWaka Reporters
benue gov i

Ortom Sacks All 23 LG Caretaker Committees

The Benue State Executive Council, Wednesday, approved the dissolution of caretaker committees in the 23 local government areas of the state.

Briefing journalists at the end of the 17th session of the council meeting at the Benue Peoples House, Commissioner of Information and Orientation, Chief Ode Ageh, stated that the dissolution would take effect from today, June 30th, 2016.

He directed the former chairmen to handover government property, including official vehicles to Directors General, Services and Administration in their respective council areas.

According to the commissioner, the council also approved the request of one of the indicted corporate bodies to refund the N355.9 million to the coffers of the state government, noting that the meeting resolved that those who make refunds should not be prosecuted.

Chief Ageh disclosed that Mr. John Weor who was also indicted by the Kpojime Commission of Inquiry had his petition upheld and was reinstated as Permanent Secretary to proceed on terminal leave and retire next month.

He said council directed the Security Adviser to step up the fight against resurging crime wave in the state, noting that action was taken immediately and that kidnapped expatriates at Dangote Cement Company in Gboko were rescued immediately by security agents.

The council was informed about the Federal Government’s further intervention as budget support fund of N1.3 billion in the first three months and N1.1 billion for nine months subsequently.

It noted the success of the Town Hall meetings, particularly the scorecard of the Samuel Ortom administration as rendered by the Governor and the observations of the major stakeholders across the state, with particular reference to the payment of salaries and insecurity.