Mass Defection Hits FCT PDP | WakaWaka Reporters

Mass Defection Hits FCT PDP

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the Federal Capital Territory has suffered a major setback as one of the its stalwarts, Hon. Yahaya Alhassan Gwagwa has defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) with over 600 supporters from the six Area Councils of FCT.

Gwagwa, who was the immediate past Mandate Secretary of Area Council Service Secretariat of the Federal Capital Territory Administration was received by the APC executives and other stakeholders of the party in his Gwagwa ward office.

Though, he did not elaborate much on why he is quitting the PDP, there were speculations that his movement to the ruling APC might not be unconnected with the forthcoming Area Councils elections scheduled to hold next year.

Gwagwa told our correspondent after the ceremony that he decided to move from his former party to the APC to contribute his quota to the present administration led by President Muhammadu Buhari.

According to him, “I have found integrity, honesty and competence in the leadership of President Muhammadu Buhari and I cannot stay aloof and watch things from the sidelines”.

Gwagwa who is believed to be a grassroots politician and the Sardaunan of Gwagwa used the occasion to call on his numerous supporters to vote for the All Progressives Congress in the forthcoming FCT Area Council elections, even as he noted that the present administration will lead the country and FCT to the promised land.

Earlier, the ward chairman of the party, Hon. Mohammed Apula described the movement as a vote of confidence on the leadership of APC, assuring that the party will capture the six Area Councils in the next year elections.

He described the event as a major landmark, while tasking the defectors to be resolute in canvassing for votes.

Apula assured all members of the party who are aspiring for various political position of equal opportunity, stressing that the party will be fair and just to all aspirants in the forthcoming Area Council elections scheduled for April 2016.