Intra-Party Disagreement Stalls Cabinet List In Lagos | WakaWaka Reporters

Intra-Party Disagreement Stalls Cabinet List In Lagos

The inability of some chieftains of All Progressives Congress (APC)in Lagos State to toe party line seemed to have frustrated efforts being made to constitute the state cabinet.

Newsmen reliably gathered from sources in the party that the state governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode failed to name his cabinet last week despite his efforts and eagerness to set the development of the state in motion because of the rancour generated from disagreement over names of candidates approved by the party and those the party chieftains want.

Ambode in his bid to make a difference in the governance of the state, given his versed knowledge of the running of the government had after his inauguration on May 29, named Mr. Tunji Bello as Secretary to the State Government; Mr. Samuel Ojo as the Chief of Staff; Mr. Abiodun Bamgboye as his Principal Private Secretary; and Mr. Habib Aruna as his Chief Press Secretary.

But the inability of the former accountant general of the state to name members of his cabinet 76 days after his inauguration had since sent tongues wagging.

The Lagos State traditional executive council, apart from the governor, his deputy , Chief of Staff, Head of Service , Secretary to the State Government, is normally made up of 23 commissioners and 13 special advisers sourced from the different constituencies and power blocks controlled by the party chieftains, while the deputy governor supervises ministries they have expertise to manage.

In the new rapprochement, a party source told our correspondent that,” The reason why the governor could not announce the list of the cabinet is due to issues on ground. A lot of candidates submitted by the zonal party leaders was not approved by the national party leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu because of protests from the zones to him.