Cabinet: Tambuwal Submits 22 Nominees To Sokoto Assembly | WakaWaka Reporters

Cabinet: Tambuwal Submits 22 Nominees To Sokoto Assembly

Sokoto State governor, Alhaji Aminu Tambuwal, yesterday submitted the names of 22 commissioner-nominees to the House of Assembly for confirmation.

This is contained in a letter sent to the assembly by Tambuwal and read on its floor by the clerk, Alhaji Muhammad Mainasara, in Sokoto.

The letter stated, “The nomination is in line with Section 192 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended.

“The nominees are selected after wide consultation within the spectre of our society and in conformity with Section 14 (4) of the Constitution; they are persons of proven integrity with good track record in their various vocations.

“I am confident that they will bring to bear their wide experience in propelling the formation and execution of government policies and programmes for the overall development of the state”.

The nominees were Deputy Governor Ahmad Aliyu, Sahabi Gada, Umar Tambuwal, Saidu Umar, Abdulkadir   Jeli, Arzika Tureta, Jabbi Kilgore, Sirajo Gatawa, Tukur Alkali and Mani Maishinko.

The others were Muhammadu Sifawa, Bello Gwiwa, Suleman Usman, Nasiru Zarummai, Isah Achida, Aminu Bello, Bala Kokani, Bello Goronyo, Manir Dan’iya, Hajiya Kulu Abdullahi, Dr Shehu Kakale and Musa Ausa.

In another development, the speaker, Alhaji Salihu Maidaji, yesterday received the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) on a solidarity rally for President Muhammadu Buhari’s fight against corruption in the country.

The speaker, represented by his Deputy, Alhaji Abubakar Magaji, assured total commitment and partnership with NLC and all workers in Sokoto for the development of the state and the country at large.

NAN reports that the rally was organised by NLC in collaboration with students’ union bodies to support the president on his fight against corruption.

Meanwhile, the assembly has resolved will proceed on second quarter recess from Thursday, Sept. 10 to Wednesday Oct. 21, to enable members perform Hajj, Eid-el-Kabir, as well as Independence Day.