Bayelsa Guber: Patience Mobilizes Support For Dickson’s Re-Election | WakaWaka Reporters
patience jonathan

Bayelsa Guber: Patience Mobilizes Support For Dickson’s Re-Election

Former first lady, Dame Patience Jonathan, has begun reconciling and mobilising aggrieved Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, groups in the state to drum up support for the re-election of incumbent governor, Mr. Seriake Dickson.

Mrs Jonathan, it was learned, yesterday met with aggrieved former political appointees and politicians in the PDP seeking new strategies to ensure the re-election of Governor Dickson for a second term in office.

Dame Patience, who met with the former political appointees and other PDP members in Otuoke, the country home of the Jonathans,   said Governor Dickson remained the best candidate in terms of governance and development.

The meeting between Mrs Jonathan and the leadership of the PDP Integrity Forum was initiated by the group and attended by the leader and former Commissioner for Local Government, Deacon James Dugo, Director of Publicity, Blessing Kingdom, the Director of Finance, Timi Gbendu, the Director of Women Mobilisation, Mrs. Julie Okenarhe, and the Director of Organisation, Embiowe Tonworitimi.

Sources privy to the meeting said the former first lady urged members of the group and politicians at the meeting to support Dickson’s re-election unconditionally, stressing that the issue at stake at the December 5 election was not about her and the governor, but the fact that the PDP must retain the state.

According to sources at the meeting, Mrs Jonathan observed that though she was angry with the governor, the development of Bayelsa State under a trusted hand like Governor Dickson was above personal anger, and cautioned that the coming election would not be “carry go”. She charged party members to reach out to the people at all levels.

Confirming the meeting, Coordinator of Bayelsa State PDP Integrity Group, Fedison Agada, said the meeting was held on Wednesday at the Otuoke country home of former President Goodluck Jonathan.