APC Gets 48, PDP, 45 Chairmanship Seats As House Of Reps Speaker Named 96 Committees | WakaWaka Reporters

APC Gets 48, PDP, 45 Chairmanship Seats As House Of Reps Speaker Named 96 Committees

Speaker of the House of Representatives, Honourable Yakubu Dogara, on Thursday, announced the names of chairmen of the 96 standing committees which are to carry out the part of the fundamental work of the House.

The sharing of the committees was done by the selection committee chaired by the Speaker, body of principal officers and appointed members each from the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory.

The sharing showed that 48 chairmen and 55 deputy chairmen of the standing committees were allotted to members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has 45 chairmen position, All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) had one and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) had two.

The committee chairmen, as announced by the Speaker included: Abdulmumin Jibrin who will chair the House Committee on Appropriation; Bashir Baballe Ila will chair the House Services Committee; Babangida Ibrahim will head Finance Committee; Zakari Mohammed will chair Basic Education and Services Committee; and Jagaba Adams Jagaba will head Committee on Interior.

Some lawmakers, however, retained the headship of the committees they chaired in the seventh assembly and they are: Mohammed Tahir Monguno, Agricultural Production and Services; Aminu Suleiman, Tertiary Education; Nkiruka Onyejeocha, Aviation; Nnenna Ukeje, Foreign Affairs; Jones Onyereri, Banking and Currency; Shehu Shagari, Judiciary and Nicholas Mutu, NDDC.

Also on the list are Rima Shawulu, Army; FCT Area Council & Ancillary Matters – Zephaniah Jisalo and Gas Resources, Agbedi Frederick.

Others are: Health Institution, Betty Apiafi; National Planning & Economic Development, Jephter Foingha; Petroleum Resources (Upstream), Victor Nwokolo; Petroleum Resources (Downstream), Akinlaja Joseph; Ports, Harbour & Waterways, Patrick Asadu; Power, Daniel Effiong; Public Procurement, Wole Oke; Science & Technology, Beni Lar and Works, Toby Okechukwu.

New members were not left out in charing the committees and those named as chairmen are: Oladele Kayode, Financial Crimes; Samuel Okon Ikon, Inter-parliamentary Relations; Timothy Golu, Legislative Budget and Research, among others

Seven new committees were named and they are Agricultural Colleges and Institutions; Basic Education and Services; Delegated Legislation; FCT Judiciary; Health Institutions; IDPs, Refugees and Initiatives on North East; Insurance and Actuarial Matters; Tertiary Education and Services.