Osinbajo Writes NASS, Withholds Assent On 4 Amended Laws | WakaWaka Reporters
osinbajo vice

Osinbajo Writes NASS, Withholds Assent On 4 Amended Laws

The acting President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, has withheld assent on four amended laws by the National Assembly, citing various reasons for his action.

Osinbajo’s decision was conveyed to the Senate and House of Representatives in a letter read on the floors of both chambers on Wednesday morning.

The proposed legislations on which presidential assents were denied are ‘Dangerous Drugs (Amendment) Bill, 2016’; ‘National Lottery (Amendment) Bill, 2016’; ‘Agricultural Credit Guarantee Scheme Fund (Amendment) Bill, 2016’; and ‘Currency Conversion and Freezing Order (Amendment) Bill, 2016’.

Reports has it that the acting President had last Saturday assented to seven Bills earlier passed into law by the National Assembly.

The Bills are Oaths(Amendment) Act, 2017; Defence Space Administration Act, 2017; Veterinary Surgeons(Amendment)Act, 2017; National Film and Video Censors Board(Amendment)Act, 2017; Pension Rights of Judges(Amendment) Act, 2017; Nigeria Institute of Soil Science(Establishment, etc.) Act, 2017 and Mortgage Institutions (Amendment)Act, 2016.